Walking Log 2010

Fri 31 Dec 2010 - Walla Crag again

The Theatre by the Lake, Keswick - Friar's Crag - Derwent Water - Cat Gill - Walla Crag - Rakefoot - Moot Hall - The Theatre by the Lake [5.00 miles 1,000ft ascent]

Thu 30 Dec 2010 - Grasmere, Loughrigg Terrace and Rydal Water

White Moss Common - Grasmere - Deerbolts Wood - Loughrigg Terrace - Loughrigg Cave - Rydal Water - White Moss Common [3.75 miles 550ft ascent]

Sun 26 Dec 2010 - Helvellyn again

Swirls - Browncove Crags path - Helvellyn - Browncove Crags path - Swirls [4.75 miles 2,540ft ascent]

Sat 25 Dec 2010 - Helvellyn on Christmas Day

Swirls - Browncove Crags path - Helvellyn - Browncove Crags path - Swirls [4.75 miles 2,540ft ascent]

Sun 19 Dec 2010 - High Rigg from Legburthwaite

Legburthwaite - Low Bridge End Farm - St John's in the Vale - St John's in the Vale Church - High Rigg - Wren Crag - Legburthwaite [5.50 miles 700ft ascent]

Sat 11 Dec 2010 - Latrigg and Castlerigg

Moot Hall, Keswick - Latrigg - Brundholme - road - Castlerigg Stone Circle - Castle Lane - Springs Wood - Moot Hall [8.00 miles 1,300ft ascent]

Thu 9 Dec 2010 - Red Tarn and Birkhouse Moor

Glenridding village - Greenside Road - Red Tarn Beck path - Red Tarn - Birkhouse Moor - Mires Beck path - Glenridding village [6.25 miles 1,900ft ascent]

Tue 7 Dec 2010 - Blencathra from Scales

Scales - Scales Fell - Blencathra - Atkinson Pike - Blue Screes - the valley of the River Glenderamackin - Mousthwaite Comb - Scales [6.25 miles 2,250ft ascent]

Sun 5 Dec 2010 - Red Screes from Ambleside

Ambleside - Kirkstone Road - south Ridge - Snarker Pike - Red Screes Tarn - Red Screes - Scandale Pass - Scandale - High Sweden Bridge - Ambleside [8.00 miles 2,400ft ascent]

Sat 4 Dec 2010 - Walla Crag and Ashness Bridge

Moot Hall, Keswick - Rakefoot - Walla Crag - above Falcon Crag - Ashness Bridge - road - Ashness Gate (landing stage) - Derwent Water - Friar's Crag - The Theatre by the Lake - Moot Hall [6.75 miles 1,000ft ascent]

Wed 1 Dec 2010 - Another Half Blencathra

Scales - Scales Fell - Mousthwaite Comb - Scales [4.00 miles 1,675ft ascent]

Sat 27 Nov 2010 - Half Blencathra

Scales - Scales Fell - Mousthwaite Comb - Scales [3.50 miles 1,450ft ascent]

Sat 20 Nov 2010 - Circuit of Buttermere

Buttermere Village - Burtness Wood - Buttermere - Peggy's Bridge - Gatesgarth - Hassness - Buttermere Village [4.50 miles]

Sun 7 Nov 2010 - Loughrigg Fell

White Moss Common - Grasmere - Deerbolts Wood - Loughrigg Fell - Loughrigg Cave - White Moss Common [4.50 miles 1,050ft ascent]

Sat 6 Nov 2010 - Castle Crag from Grange

Grange in Borrowdale - Broadslack Gill - Castle Crag - River Derwent - Grange in Borrowdale [3.75 miles 700ft ascent]

Sun 24 Oct 2010 - Causey Pike and Scar Crags

Stonycroft near Stair - Sleet Hause - Causey Pike - Scar Crags - Sail Pass - High Moss - Stonycroft Gill - Stonycroft near Stair [4.50 miles 2,000ft ascent]

Sat 9 Oct 2010 - Walla Crag

The Theatre by the Lake, Keswick - Castle Head - Rakefoot - Walla Crag - Cat Gill - Derwent Water - The Theatre by the Lake [4.75 miles 1,000ft ascent]

Tue 28 Sep 2010 - Priest's Hole to High Hartsop Dodd

Cow Bridge - Brothers Water - Hartsop Hall - Dovedale - Houndshope Cove - Priest's Hole - Houndshope Cove - Dove Crag - Bakestones Moss - Little Hart Crag - High Hartsop Dodd - Hartsop Hall - Brothers Water - Cow Bridge [6.50 miles 2,250ft ascent]

Sun 5 Sep 2010 - Burnbanks Fell to Carling Knott

Fangs Brow - Burnbank Fell - Blake Fell - Carling Knott - Holme Beck - The Coffin Road - Fangs Brow [5.00 miles 1,500ft ascent]

Sat 4 Sep 2010 - Caw Fell to Steeple from Ennerdale

Bowness car park, Ennerdale - Ennerdale Water - Irish Bridge - Caw Fell's north ridge - Caw Fell - Little Gowder Crag - Haycock - Little Scoat Fell - Steeple - Steeple's north ridge - Lingmell - Irish Bridge - Ennerdale Water - Bowness car park [11.00 miles 3,050ft ascent]

Mon 30 Aug 2010 - Knott and Great Calva

Grainsgill Beck Bridge - Grainsgill Beck - Knott - Great Calva - Cumbria Way - River Caldew - Grainsgill Beck Bridge [7.00 miles 1,900ft ascent]

Sun 15 Aug 2010 - Dollywaggon Pike to Helvellyn

Dunmail Raise - Raise Beck - Grisedale Tarn - Dollywaggon Pike - High Crag - Nethermost Pike - Swallow Scarth - Helvellyn - Browncove Crags path - Swirls [6.25 miles 2,700ft ascent]

Sat 7 Aug 2010 - Carrock Fell and High Pike

Calebreck - Carrock Beck - Carrock Fell - Miton Hill - High Pike - Driggith Mine - Sunny Bank - Howthwaite - Calebreck [6.00 miles 1,650ft ascent]

Thu 29 Jul 2010 - Riggindale Round

Mardale Head - Rough Crag - Caspel Gate Tarn - Long Stile - High Street - Roman Road - Straits of Riggindale - Kidsty Pike - Kidsty Howes - Riggindale - Haweswater - Mardale Head [7.25 miles 2,420ft ascent]

Tue 22 Jun 2010 - Helvellyn from Swirls

Swirls - Browncove Crags path - Helvellyn - Helvellyn Lower Man - below Browncove Crags - Swirls [4.75 miles 2,600ft ascent]

Sat 22 May 2010 - Great Borne and Starling Dodd from Ennerdale

Bowness car park, Ennerdale - Rake Beck - Herdus - Great Borne - Starling Dodd - Little Dodd - Gillflinter Beck - High Gillerthwaite - Ennerdale Water - Bowness car park [7.75 miles 2,250ft ascent]

Sat 15 May 2010 - Walla Crag

Moot Hall, Keswick - Springs Road - Rakefoot - Walla Crag - Cat Gill - Derwent Water - Friar's Crag - The Theatre by the Lake - Moot Hall [5.00 miles 1,000ft ascent]

Sun 25 Apr 2010 - Easedale Tarn

Grasmere (A591) - Butharlyp Howe - Sourmilk Gill - Easedale Tarn - Stythwaite Steps - Lancrigg - Grasmere Village - Grasmere (A591) [5.50 miles 800ft ascent]

Sun 18 Apr 2010 - Carrock Fell and High Pike

Carrock Beck Ford - Carrock Fell - Miton Hill - High Pike - Driggith Mine - Carrock Beck - Carrock Beck Ford [5.75 miles 1,650ft ascent]

Tue 9 Mar 2010 - Selside Pike from Swindale

Swindale - Harper Hills - Hare Shaw - Selside Pike - High Howes - Mosedale Quarry - Mosedale - Swindale Head - Truss Gap - Swindale [9.00 miles 1,850ft ascent]

Sun 28 Feb 2010 - Dock Tarn and Great Crag

Rosthwaite - Stonethwaite Beck - Lingy End - Dock Tarn - Great Crag - Puddingstone Bank - Rosthwaite [4.50 miles 1,200ft ascent]

Sat 13 Feb 2010 - Blencathra and Mungrisdale Common

Blencathra Centre, Threlkeld - Blease Fell - Knowe Crags - Gategill Fell Top - Blencathra - Atkinson Pike - Mungrisdale Common - Glenderterra - Blencathra Centre [6.75 miles 2,050ft ascent]

Sun 7 Feb 2010 - Elterwater and Little Langdale

Skelwith Bridge - Skelwith Force - Woodburn Bridge - Colwith Force - High Park - Stang End - Slater Bridge - Dale End - Elterwater village - Elter Water - River Brathay - Skelwith Bridge [6.00 miles 600ft ascent]

Sat 30 Jan 2010 - Silver How from Grasmere village

Grasmere Village - Allan Bank - Wray Gill - Silver How - Kelbarrow - Grasmere Village [3.00 miles 1,050ft ascent]

Sun 17 Jan 2010 - Haystacks

Gatesgarth - Peggy's Bridge - Scarth Gap - Haystacks - Innominate Tarn - Blackbeck Tarn - Dubs Quarry - Warnscale Bottom - Gatesgarth [5.25 miles 1,650ft ascent]

Sun 10 Jan 2010 - Castle Crag from Grange

Grange in Borrowdale - Broadslack Gill - Castle Crag - River Derwent - Grange in Borrowdale [3.75 miles 700ft ascent]

Sat 9 Jan 2010 - Blencathra plus

Scales - Scales Fell - Blencathra - Atkinson Pike - Mungrisdale Common - Glenderamackin Col - Bannerdale Crags - White Horse Bent - Mousthwaite Comb - Scales [7.50 miles 2,550ft ascent]

Sun 3 Jan 2010 - High Rigg from Legburthwaite

Legburthwaite - Wren Crag - High Rigg - Wren Crag - Legburthwaite [4.00 miles 950ft ascent]

Sat 2 Jan 2010 - Walla Crag

The Theatre by the Lake, Keswick - Friar's Crag - Derwent Water - Cat Gill - Walla Crag - Rakefoot - Springs Road - The Theatre by the Lake [4.75 miles 1,000ft ascent]

Back to Top