Walking Log 2010

Walk   Distance Ascent
Fri 31 Dec 2010 - Walla Crag again
The Theatre by the Lake, Keswick - Friar's Crag - Derwent Water - Cat Gill - Walla Crag - Rakefoot - Moot Hall - The Theatre by the Lake
5.00 miles1,000ft
Thu 30 Dec 2010 - Grasmere, Loughrigg Terrace and Rydal Water
White Moss Common - Grasmere - Deerbolts Wood - Loughrigg Terrace - Loughrigg Cave - Rydal Water - White Moss Common
3.75 miles550ft
Sun 26 Dec 2010 - Helvellyn again
Swirls - Browncove Crags path - Helvellyn - Browncove Crags path - Swirls
4.75 miles2,540ft
Sat 25 Dec 2010 - Helvellyn on Christmas Day
Swirls - Browncove Crags path - Helvellyn - Browncove Crags path - Swirls
4.75 miles2,540ft
Sun 19 Dec 2010 - High Rigg from Legburthwaite
Legburthwaite - Low Bridge End Farm - St John's in the Vale - St John's in the Vale Church - High Rigg - Wren Crag - Legburthwaite
5.50 miles700ft
Sat 18 Dec 2010 - Skiddaw from Keswick
Briar Rigg, Keswick - Latrigg car park (end of Gale Road) - Jenkin Hill - Skiddaw - Skiddaw Little Man - Skiddaw Lesser Man - Jenkin Hill - Latrigg car park - Briar Rigg
9.00 miles3,025ft
Sat 11 Dec 2010 - Latrigg and Castlerigg
Moot Hall, Keswick - Latrigg - Brundholme - road - Castlerigg Stone Circle - Castle Lane - Springs Wood - Moot Hall
8.00 miles1,300ft
Thu 9 Dec 2010 - Red Tarn and Birkhouse Moor
Glenridding village - Greenside Road - Red Tarn Beck path - Red Tarn - Birkhouse Moor - Mires Beck path - Glenridding village
6.25 miles1,900ft
Tue 7 Dec 2010 - Blencathra from Scales
Scales - Scales Fell - Blencathra - Atkinson Pike - Blue Screes - the valley of the River Glenderamackin - Mousthwaite Comb - Scales
6.25 miles2,250ft
Sun 5 Dec 2010 - Red Screes from Ambleside
Ambleside - Kirkstone Road - south Ridge - Snarker Pike - Red Screes Tarn - Red Screes - Scandale Pass - Scandale - High Sweden Bridge - Ambleside
8.00 miles2,400ft
Sat 4 Dec 2010 - Walla Crag and Ashness Bridge
Moot Hall, Keswick - Rakefoot - Walla Crag - above Falcon Crag - Ashness Bridge - road - Ashness Gate (landing stage) - Derwent Water - Friar's Crag - The Theatre by the Lake - Moot Hall
6.75 miles1,000ft
Wed 1 Dec 2010 - Another Half Blencathra
Scales - Scales Fell - Mousthwaite Comb - Scales
4.00 miles1,675ft
Sun 28 Nov 2010 - River Eden - Bolton Bridge to Ousenstand Bridge
Bolton - Bolton Bridge - River Eden - Kirkby Thore - River Eden - Ousenstand Bridge - River Eden - Peatgate - Crossrigg Lane - road - Bolton
5.75 miles200ft
Sat 27 Nov 2010 - Half Blencathra
Scales - Scales Fell - Mousthwaite Comb - Scales
3.50 miles1,450ft
Sat 20 Nov 2010 - Circuit of Buttermere
Buttermere Village - Burtness Wood - Buttermere - Peggy's Bridge - Gatesgarth - Hassness - Buttermere Village
4.50 miles 
Fri 19 Nov 2010 - High Cup Nick
Dufton - Pennine Way - Bow Hall - Narrow Gate - High Cup Nick - Narrow Gate - Bow Hall - Pennine Way - Dufton
8.00 miles1,450ft
Sun 7 Nov 2010 - Loughrigg Fell
White Moss Common - Grasmere - Deerbolts Wood - Loughrigg Fell - Loughrigg Cave - White Moss Common
4.50 miles1,050ft
Sat 6 Nov 2010 - Castle Crag from Grange
Grange in Borrowdale - Broadslack Gill - Castle Crag - River Derwent - Grange in Borrowdale
3.75 miles700ft
Sun 24 Oct 2010 - Causey Pike and Scar Crags
Stonycroft near Stair - Sleet Hause - Causey Pike - Scar Crags - Sail Pass - High Moss - Stonycroft Gill - Stonycroft near Stair
4.50 miles2,000ft
Sun 10 Oct 2010 - Blea Tarn, Lingmoor Fell and Side Pike
Blea Tarn Carpark - Bleatarn House - Lingmoor Fell - Side Pike - Blea Tarn - Blea Tarn Carpark
3.00 miles1,000ft
Sat 9 Oct 2010 - Walla Crag
The Theatre by the Lake, Keswick - Castle Head - Rakefoot - Walla Crag - Cat Gill - Derwent Water - The Theatre by the Lake
4.75 miles1,000ft
Tue 28 Sep 2010 - Priest's Hole to High Hartsop Dodd
Cow Bridge - Brothers Water - Hartsop Hall - Dovedale - Houndshope Cove - Priest's Hole - Houndshope Cove - Dove Crag - Bakestones Moss - Little Hart Crag - High Hartsop Dodd - Hartsop Hall - Brothers Water - Cow Bridge
6.50 miles2,250ft
Sun 5 Sep 2010 - Burnbanks Fell to Carling Knott
Fangs Brow - Burnbank Fell - Blake Fell - Carling Knott - Holme Beck - The Coffin Road - Fangs Brow
5.00 miles1,500ft
Sat 4 Sep 2010 - Caw Fell to Steeple from Ennerdale
Bowness car park, Ennerdale - Ennerdale Water - Irish Bridge - Caw Fell's north ridge - Caw Fell - Little Gowder Crag - Haycock - Little Scoat Fell - Steeple - Steeple's north ridge - Lingmell - Irish Bridge - Ennerdale Water - Bowness car park
11.00 miles3,050ft
Fri 3 Sep 2010 - A sunset walk to Angle Tarn
Patterdale - Boredale Hause - Angle Tarn - Boredale Hause - Patterdale
4.00 miles1,400ft
Mon 30 Aug 2010 - Knott and Great Calva
Grainsgill Beck Bridge - Grainsgill Beck - Knott - Great Calva - Cumbria Way - River Caldew - Grainsgill Beck Bridge
7.00 miles1,900ft
Sat 28 Aug 2010 - Four Stones Hill and Haweswater
Burnbanks - Four Stones Hill - standing stones - Measand Beck - Haweswater shore path - Burnbanks
4.50 miles700ft
Sun 15 Aug 2010 - Dollywaggon Pike to Helvellyn
Dunmail Raise - Raise Beck - Grisedale Tarn - Dollywaggon Pike - High Crag - Nethermost Pike - Swallow Scarth - Helvellyn - Browncove Crags path - Swirls
6.25 miles2,700ft
Sat 7 Aug 2010 - Carrock Fell and High Pike
Calebreck - Carrock Beck - Carrock Fell - Miton Hill - High Pike - Driggith Mine - Sunny Bank - Howthwaite - Calebreck
6.00 miles1,650ft
Sun 1 Aug 2010 - Gaping Gill from Clapham
Clapham - Nature Trail Walk - Trow Gill - Gaping Gill - Clapham Bottoms - Long Lane - Thwaite Lane - Clapham
5.75 miles900ft
Thu 29 Jul 2010 - Riggindale Round
Mardale Head - Rough Crag - Caspel Gate Tarn - Long Stile - High Street - Roman Road - Straits of Riggindale - Kidsty Pike - Kidsty Howes - Riggindale - Haweswater - Mardale Head
7.25 miles2,420ft
Wed 30 Jun 2010 - Scafell Pike plus from Seathwaite
Seathwaite, Borrowdale - Stockley Bridge - Grains Gill - Esk Hause - Calf Cove - Great End - Ill Crag - Broad Crag - Scafell Pike - Lingmell - Corridor Route - Sty Head - Styhead Tarn - Taylorgill Force - Seathwaite
10.25 miles3,650ft
Tue 22 Jun 2010 - Helvellyn from Swirls
Swirls - Browncove Crags path - Helvellyn - Helvellyn Lower Man - below Browncove Crags - Swirls
4.75 miles2,600ft
Sun 30 May 2010 - Cross Fell from Kirkland
Kirkland - High Cap - Cross Fell - Tees Head - Wildboar Scar - Wythwaite - Kirkland
9.00 miles2,300ft
Sat 22 May 2010 - Great Borne and Starling Dodd from Ennerdale
Bowness car park, Ennerdale - Rake Beck - Herdus - Great Borne - Starling Dodd - Little Dodd - Gillflinter Beck - High Gillerthwaite - Ennerdale Water - Bowness car park
7.75 miles2,250ft
Sat 15 May 2010 - Walla Crag
Moot Hall, Keswick - Springs Road - Rakefoot - Walla Crag - Cat Gill - Derwent Water - Friar's Crag - The Theatre by the Lake - Moot Hall
5.00 miles1,000ft
Wed 12 May 2010 - Great Gable from Honister Hause
Honister Pass - Drum House - Moses' Trod - Beck Head - Great Gable - Windy Gap - Green Gable - Gillercomb Head - Gillercomb Head Tarns - Brandreth - Grey Knotts Tarns - Grey Knotts - Honister Pass
6.00 miles2,350ft
Sun 25 Apr 2010 - Easedale Tarn
Grasmere (A591) - Butharlyp Howe - Sourmilk Gill - Easedale Tarn - Stythwaite Steps - Lancrigg - Grasmere Village - Grasmere (A591)
5.50 miles800ft
Sun 18 Apr 2010 - Carrock Fell and High Pike
Carrock Beck Ford - Carrock Fell - Miton Hill - High Pike - Driggith Mine - Carrock Beck - Carrock Beck Ford
5.75 miles1,650ft
Sat 17 Apr 2010 - A Pennine Journey - Guide Book Launch Walk
Settle - Langcliffe - Lower Winskill - Stainforth - Little Stainforth - Feizor - Stackhouse - Settle
9.00 miles1,747ft
Thu 15 Apr 2010 - High Street from Mardale Head
Mardale Head - Rough Crag - Caspel Gate Tarn - Long Stile - High Street - Mardale Ill Bell - Nan Bield Pass - Small Water - Mardale Head
5.75 miles2,200ft
Sun 28 Mar 2010 - Uldale Waterfalls
Rawthey Bridge - Uldale Force - Black Moss - Rawthey Bridge
5.75 miles900ft
Sun 14 Mar 2010 - Loadpot Hill and Fusedale
Roehead - The Cockpit, Moor Divock - White Knott - Arthur's Pike - Loadpot Hill - Wether Hill - Fusedale - St. Peter's Church, Martindale
9.00 miles1,950ft
Tue 9 Mar 2010 - Selside Pike from Swindale
Swindale - Harper Hills - Hare Shaw - Selside Pike - High Howes - Mosedale Quarry - Mosedale - Swindale Head - Truss Gap - Swindale
9.00 miles1,850ft
Sun 28 Feb 2010 - Dock Tarn and Great Crag
Rosthwaite - Stonethwaite Beck - Lingy End - Dock Tarn - Great Crag - Puddingstone Bank - Rosthwaite
4.50 miles1,200ft
Sat 27 Feb 2010 - Bowfell and Esk Pike
Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, Great Langdale - Stool End Farm - The Band - Three Tarns - Bowfell - Ore Gap - Esk Pike - Esk Hause - Angle Tarn - Rossett Gill - Mickleden - Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
8.75 miles3,250ft
Sat 13 Feb 2010 - Blencathra and Mungrisdale Common
Blencathra Centre, Threlkeld - Blease Fell - Knowe Crags - Gategill Fell Top - Blencathra - Atkinson Pike - Mungrisdale Common - Glenderterra - Blencathra Centre
6.75 miles2,050ft
Sun 7 Feb 2010 - Elterwater and Little Langdale
Skelwith Bridge - Skelwith Force - Woodburn Bridge - Colwith Force - High Park - Stang End - Slater Bridge - Dale End - Elterwater village - Elter Water - River Brathay - Skelwith Bridge
6.00 miles600ft
Sat 30 Jan 2010 - Silver How from Grasmere village
Grasmere Village - Allan Bank - Wray Gill - Silver How - Kelbarrow - Grasmere Village
3.00 miles1,050ft
Sun 24 Jan 2010 - Heughscar Hill from Askham
Askham - Heughscar Hill - The Cockpit, Moor Divock - Askham
5.00 miles725ft
Sat 23 Jan 2010 - Place Fell
Patterdale - Boredale Hause - Place Fell - Low Moss - Scalehow Force - Ullswater shoreline - Side Farm - Patterdale
7.25 miles2,200ft
Sun 17 Jan 2010 - Haystacks
Gatesgarth - Peggy's Bridge - Scarth Gap - Haystacks - Innominate Tarn - Blackbeck Tarn - Dubs Quarry - Warnscale Bottom - Gatesgarth
5.25 miles1,650ft
Sun 10 Jan 2010 - Castle Crag from Grange
Grange in Borrowdale - Broadslack Gill - Castle Crag - River Derwent - Grange in Borrowdale
3.75 miles700ft
Sat 9 Jan 2010 - Blencathra plus
Scales - Scales Fell - Blencathra - Atkinson Pike - Mungrisdale Common - Glenderamackin Col - Bannerdale Crags - White Horse Bent - Mousthwaite Comb - Scales
7.50 miles2,550ft
Sun 3 Jan 2010 - High Rigg from Legburthwaite
Legburthwaite - Wren Crag - High Rigg - Wren Crag - Legburthwaite
4.00 miles950ft
Sat 2 Jan 2010 - Walla Crag
The Theatre by the Lake, Keswick - Friar's Crag - Derwent Water - Cat Gill - Walla Crag - Rakefoot - Springs Road - The Theatre by the Lake
4.75 miles1,000ft

Back to Top